A long awaited change…

Hey guys I’m back and I’m ready to start blogging regularly again!

I took quite a long break from blogging and social media for a while because after being saturated in it day after day, I started to develop a really negative body image and negative thoughts that began to take over my life. I started to fall into a really deep depression and didn’t want to get out of bed, hang out with any of my friends, make art or do anything! I knew I had to do something about it because I was so tired of feeling so sad and helpless!

It was around this time that I really started to go Vegan and start making healthier meals. It would honestly be an understatement if I said Veganism didn’t change my life. I know how cliche that may sound, but let me explain.

After I started cooking my own meals and really began understanding which foods were healthiest for your body and which would fight depression, anxiety, acne, etc. I also started to research into herbal healing and holistic health. I began making my own bath products like candles and bath bombs for aromatherapy, shampoo, face wash, etc. Until I became a full blown hippie and even started making my own makeup, toothpaste and deodorant that eliminated nasty toxins from my body. I know it sounds crazy but after I started taking toxins out of my daily life and started replacing them with natural products I began to feel so much lighter and happier. It was as though my body was releasing all of this negativity and starting to replenish itself with positivity. My body started to thank me for taking care of it and I couldn’t have been happier.

I slowly began to grow a better relationship with my body through my natural approach, but my mental health was still a little out of whack. I felt as though everything I was doing wasn’t worth it at all. I failed to see how far I had come and only looked at the negativity that was still left in my life. Sure I was physically healthy, I ate well, I made natural products, I was saving the poor lil animals, etc. but my mental health was still suffering! One day while I was crying my eyes out because m thoughts were racing with negative thoughts I stumbled across a “Yoga for Depression” Video on youtube and thought, well nothing else has helped so lets try this. AND DO YOU KNOW WHAT HAPPENED?! I became addicted to yoga!!!!! I cannot even explain what this has done for me! Not only has it allowed me to appreciate myself and the world around me, but it also helped me clear my mind and set myself up for repair.

Here I am, almost 8 months later and I am the happiest I’ve ever been. Thats not to say that I never suffer from negative thoughts or body image issues. Those bad habits still visit me every once in a while, but now I know how to handle myself so much more gently when it does happen. I still have a lot of growing to do before I reach 100% Self Actualization but I’m on my way!

I’m going to recreate this blog to promote positivity, health and happiness. I’m on my own journey to self actualization and in the process I want to help as many people as I can to do the same. I hope you enjoyed this post, stay tuned for another one soon!

 

xoxox

Aja

 

Leave a Reply

