Dilemma of the Century

Dying for My Own Style

In this day and age, everything is so easily accessible. Finding fashion inspiration is at the tips of our fingers; we can scroll for hours through different social media sites in search of something new to inspire us. However, I feel with advancement of technology and the appearance of new websites and social media apps, we sometimes lose who we truly are just to attract followers, go with the flow of fellow bloggers, or just to simply portray ourselves in a certain way.

Processed with Rookie CamAdmittedly, after being on social media for over two years, I’ve noticed that a lot of fashion bloggers and social media accounts all look horrifyingly similar. White backgrounds, a coffee mug, and a pair of leather boots in a clear shot frame.

For a short period of time, I was extremely against these blogs and accounts because I thought they were boring and didn’t have any eye catching content, but at  another point I was completely nspired by these kinds of blogs because of their simplicity, organized content and clear aesthetic; and this was all reflected in my Instagram posts over the years. I then realized that I wasn’t being true to myself. I wanted to portray myself as a clean cut, organized blogger like everyone else; but that’s not who I am!! I love color, odd clothing pieces, messy pictures and taking pictures of whatever I want.

fullsizerender-4
My Instagram feed in 2016

 

fullsizerender-5
My Instagram feed in 2015

Sure my blog and social media have changed significantly over the past month/year, because I’ve grown as a person. I used to post overly edited content, just to maintain a certain amount of followers on Instagram because I knew thats what my following found eye-catching. It was hard to truly be myself in fear of losing followers who just followed me for a certain account aesthetic.

SOOOO! After taking a short break from social media, I’ve decided to just recreate myself on media and show everyone who I am! Social media is supposed to be a fun and safe place to show the world who you are and to express yourself in ways that make you smile. I’ve been dying for a style change but have been too afraid to post about it, so here it goes!

October OOTD

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie Cam

Processed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie CamProcessed with Rookie Cam

Where to Get the Look

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 7.32.41 PM.png

Dusty Rose Satin Choker

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 7.38.21 PM.png

Striped Cropped Long Sleeve

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 7.40.27 PM.png

My pinafore was thrifted but this is very similar to mine!!!

(and it’s on SALE!)

Denim Pinafore Dress

Screen Shot 2016-10-19 at 7.43.03 PM.png

Mine are vintage mens shoes but here you can buy them brand new!

Black and White Wing Tip Oxford

 

Thank you for reading!

xoxox

~Aja

 

 

One thought on “Dilemma of the Century

  1. Great post ! Stay true to yourself, don’t do something that makes you unhappy. You look happy and passionate about your new look and it does show! I’m sure you’ll gain new follows because they will see how happy you are

    Like

Leave a Reply

