Making the Switch to a Plant Based Diet

Today marks my first week being on a whole foods plant-based diet. After watching the documentary “Forks Over Knives” I was immediately compelled to change my diet, and I couldn’t be happier!

When I was a young child, I was clueless when it came to what hforks-over-knives.jpgappened behind closed doors in the animal product industry. I never understood what exactly happened to animals before being sold to grocery stores for consumers to buy and take home. The horrible things that happen before being presented on a dinner plate never crossed my mind, I was naive and grew up on a meat centered diet, so I never thought anything was wrong.

After watching documentaries in high school about the corruption and abuse that actually happen within the industry, I was absolutely disgusted and went on a pork strike. I refused to eat any kind of pork for months, which was actually quite difficult considering my family added bacon to everything!!  It was extremely ignorant of me to only stop consuming pork products, their were other animals suffering as well, but that was my mindset for the longest time. I never hesitated to eat a 4×4 at In-N-Out, and never thought I was doing any wrong when buying chicken nuggets at McDonalds.

As I started to become more knowledgeable as to what happened to the animals in order for nuggets and burgers to be made, I began to think twice before I ate. And when I did consume my burgers and nuggets, I would feel guilty as though I personally slaughtered the poor animals. I couldn’t stand the feeling any longer, so I knew I had to do something about it.

I decided to watch the documentary “Forks over Knives” and found out a lot more fnf_1x.pngthan I intended to. Not only is consuming animal products inhumane and cruel to the poor lil babies, but when consumed animal products do a lot more to our bodies than we think, like increase our chances of cancers, heart diseases, and damage cells throughout our body! It also makes us more prone to diebities, unhealthy weight gain, and fatigue.

Since going on this new diet, my mind has been clearer, I’ve been more energized, my body feels cleaner and I feel so much closer to nature! I encourage you all, if you haven’t already, watch the “Forks Over Knives” documentary to become more informed about what is actually going into our bodies.

xoxo

~Aja

 

3 thoughts on “Making the Switch to a Plant Based Diet

Leave a Reply

